Finding the Right Volunteer Activity for You.

I thought I would use Jennifer McGuire’s Sharing Handmade Kindness Challenge week to write about my volunteer work which inspires me to Share Handmade Kindness year-round.

I have always volunteered. It is in my DNA. But nothing really gives me as much joy as my work with Make A Wish MN. My sister Pam and I are Wish Granters and we love it — mostly because it challenges our creative juices to create a “memorable” event for each child. It starts with the initial interview, then the wish reveal, the wish itself (we work with a wish coordinator who know the budget, etc.), and then the wish enhancement or send off party.

Right now, we have five wish kids… a 17 yo girl who is going to New Zealand to visit the Lord of the Rings movie set, a 13 yo boy who is going to London to meet a YouTube Video Game Star, a 15 yo boy is getting a wheelchair accessible greenhouse, a 6 yo girl who leaves for Disney World in a couple of weeks to meet Cinderella, and finally, a 10 yo girl who is going to Disney next summer. This is a little care package I put together to send to her so she knows we are thinking about her.

gift package wth simple card

Giving back/paying it forward feels right. Finding the “right” volunteer activity that incorporates your gifts and talents is even more satisfying. Remember the name of my blog is Paper – Parties – Perspective. I am well suited to be a Wish Granter.

About P3

Hi, welcome to my blog! I’m Colleen Hagerman. I am defined by labels like mother, grandmother, sister, program director, wish granter, paper crafter and so much more … This blog is a journal or scrapbook of sorts, a place to share my art, photos and thoughts. Thanks for visiting.
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

